A Little Update!

I took a moment today to re-look at my “About” page. I created it on March 2, 2011, when I started this blog and began sharing my journey. Now it’s February 23, 2013, and I wanted to review where am I now, what I am doing and what I have accomplished with the help of so many others. Also, for any new visitors to this site or our chapter, I wanted to share who I am with them.

Hello, my name is Becky Fong, I am a RISD graduate, 2005 Graphic Design. In 5 years I lived in 5 cities, New York, Boston, Washington, DC, Atlanta, and Providence.

I am originally from Cranston, RI and moved back to the area after a whirlwind of travel, exploration and fun. While I traveled, I volunteered my time to collaborate with RISD Alumni Relations to connect with the alumni in the areas I visited. I connected and met with alums in places like Hong Kong, St. John, USVI, Denver, Pittsburgh, Honolulu, just to name a few. I helped establish and create the Hawaii Alumni Chapter. ALOHA!

When I completed my travels, I returned back to RI, became the RI Alumni Chapter Chair and helped re-energize the local community with events, exhibitions and opportunities. It was not without the help and dedication of a great set of alumni volunteers who make up our ever active planning committee! Prior to becoming RI Chair, I had been very active in the NYC and Boston chapters and led the DC/MD and Atlanta chapters.

I began working  as an Admissions Officer with RISD Admissions in September 2011, full time in January 2012. This job is wonderful and with its required recruitment travel schedule I was able to maintain new found friendships from my previous travels and create new ones with alumni in  new areas. I continue my graphic design expertise on a freelance basis and have been busy with some small print, signage, and non-profit projects.

Here in RI, our chapter accomplishes great things! As a main coordinator for this chapter I am extremely proud and happy to share these examples:

We proposed and successfully completed 4 alumni exhibitions, 2 of which were juried: VICINITY, The Locals, STATEWIDE, and RADIUS. We have more in the making…

We collaborate with large companies like Anthropologie and smaller ones like Ladyfingers Letterpress, organizations like IDSA RI, and AIGA RI.

We volunteer and participate at RISD MLK Service Day at Mt. Hope Learning Center, RISD Thanksgiving donation with Amos House, RISD Orientation, and the Alumni Sales.

We foster and build local relationships with various vendors to help sponsor our events, to keep them affordable and free as often as possible.

Thank you to the RISD community!

Some pictures with alumni, events, and connections!
Some pictures with alumni, events, and connections!

I am now deep in application reviews for Admissions, busy with coordinating future events for the RI chapter and happily living life to the fullest. RISD Trustees are at campus this week and Alumni Council has an annual meeting this weekend. As the Chair of the Special Awards + Events committee, and a member of the Alumni Council, I will be helping review nominees to determine the Commencement Award recipient.

Leave a Reply

